The Panvel Post

Civic issues, Features and Personalities of Navi Mumbai

A Night with a Virgin

Story of a Prostitute (sex worker) 

Woman-covering-face-with-her-arms-via-ShutterstockI was sleeping, but not intended to, when I met her. It was surprising, but was not wrong when she told me ‘thu to bacha he’ (you are just a child). I spend 4 long hours with the most intelligent women that I ever met. Those intellectuals may call her a “prostitute”, but she names herself as an Indian women. She sounds much more like a teacher with immense life experiences.

Desperate hope of an Indian woman who forgot to dream

she (Sheela-name changed) taught me from the history of class struggles to bitterness of compromising emotions better than any of my teachers. Even that was in just few hours.

As a young reporter, furious to find something new, I love to roam around the city of Panvel. Panvel never disappointed me, but always gave me lives and experiences. In such an evening I was disappointed with no stories in hand, sitting in open veranda of a hotel. Exhausted, I was surrounded by a group of girls at 11 pm. I acted like a dead sleeping animal. They searched all over my body to find some money, but they couldn’t.  One of them gave me a strong kick on head when others poured some Marathi terms, which I couldn’t understand.

I was tired and fall asleep on that veranda. In the dark midnight, I was awake and got a company on other side of veranda. She was also trying sleep, but couldn’t due to heavy cold atmosphere. We remained silent for half an hour by sharing a single veranda. I started talking, as I could not control my curiosity.

She showed me a cow staying near to the hotel. The cow was eating something and was little fat. “The same people who respect and supply immense amount food to this animal, consider me as a filthy creature on this earth. Why that.” she said. I was surprised when she said “it is not only me, but color of Indian womanhood” in English. “How a woman from red light area could speak in English” I asked with in no time.

There she opened the story of a well educated but cursed life of an Indian woman.

She was undoubtful and sound bold while talking to me. But I could smell her crying mind when explained her experiences. She was not wearing colorful dress or covered with perfumes. Still she was shinning like a star in that dark sky in front of my naked eyes. It was all silence all around us, when she pours out her heart. “It is the odour of suppressed, deprived Indian youth. It’s not so inspiring to hear the voice of those even forgot to dream” She said. Against all odds happened in her life, she still dreams for a day when her son (lives somewhere in his village) will have his own identity and not known as a “son of prostitute”.

Her husband was an engineer. He was hopeful to settle in a foreign country with a good job, like many Indian youths. But destiny took him into some bad friends. They took him into drug, fake currency and flesh trade. Though this brought him money, it costs his family. One day he was disappeared and never came back. By that time Sheela was in the hands of bad people. Sold to some red streets in Mumbai, she was later sent to Panvel. After many attempts to escape, she understood it is almost impossible to escape. She said ” I know only death can take me out of this trap”.

I asked her “what can I do for u”. She replied ” Tu tho bacha hai”. It was hard for me to acknowledge that I am helpless. It was sure that she is pure from her heart and representing the Indian womanhood. This is why I said  “A Night with a Virgin”

23 comments on “A Night with a Virgin

  1. samiksha wadhwani
    October 4, 2013

    excellent story ….. beautifully explained

  2. ankush shah
    October 5, 2013

    Great work buddy. an eye-opener!!!

  3. Srinivasan Iyer
    October 6, 2013

    Insightful and enriching….good work libin…

  4. Elizeba Thomas
    October 8, 2013

    GREAT JOB… KEEP IT UP LIBIN……A TRUE EXPERENCE, NICELY TOLD AND THOROUGHLY EXPLAINED

  5. Kalyan Salehundam
    November 7, 2013

    Good one..Libin..

  6. Gary Barbour
    November 14, 2013

    This is a beautiful story. Her trouble is worth sharing with the world.

    • LIBIN CHACKO KURIAN
      November 14, 2013

      Gary! Thank you so much for stopping by and share your valuable feedback about the post. Have a good day. God bless.

  7. Boldrin
    December 3, 2013

    Libin, If she is willing, she will be helped….

    • Libin Chacko Kurian
      December 3, 2013

      Thank u so much…….I was waiting for a reply that talks about helping the lady.

      I don’t know how to locate her again. I just know that she is somewhere inside the slums of Panvel, Maharashtra.

      Her boss is powerful and very influential in the region.
      I would appreciate, if u can provide any kind of help.

      • Boldrin
        December 30, 2013

        Have you located her….?

      • Libin Chacko Kurian
        December 30, 2013

        she is still somewhere inside the slums of Panvel. But their residency are changing regularly, becoz of security issues.

  8. Bala Divya
    August 10, 2014

    Good one

  9. preetha Sasidharan
    September 21, 2014

    very touching … thanks for sharing ur experience.

  10. Pushkar Oak
    July 13, 2015

    This Piece of yours got me goosebumps. Bro you are very good writer. Initiate writing a book. You will have less number of pages but never ending ideas. All the best

  11. Tanmay Gujarathi
    January 9, 2016

    Hey Bro where that area located… Because we are trying to make short film on the topic of prostitution in India. will u plz tell me the location

  12. urearchsunilnair
    June 4, 2016

    It’s really very very touching story Libin.

  13. Tiru
    August 6, 2016

    Hi Libin,
    This is such a heart-pinching story and the pitiful condition of yet another victim of Indian matrimonial relations. Your work is commendable. Dr. Sunita Krishnan, the founder of Prajwala, is engaged in rescuing such kind of children and women. You can approach her perhaps. Thanks for bringing this story out.

    Wishes, T.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 4, 2013 by in Civic Issues, Crime, Features, Personalities.

My Group

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 186 other followers

The man who stopped World War III and sacrificed his career



Stephen hawking believes digital brain can provide form of life after death


Shocking facts Osama revealed in his last moments


Only Russia can save our world now?


Mumbai gang rape victim pours her heart out
The Confessant

For I acknowledge my wickedness

pistonhearted

All about stories, Road trips, films and life

Survivingbaenglish

Just another WordPress.com weblog

You are Awesome!

Inspiring new generation

Jing Sebastian

Thoughts. Memories. Dreams.

mrid'hues

....... as I walked ahead.. lens uncorked.. thoughts uncurbed .......

Indian Luxe and Travellers

Bringing to you the best of luxury and travel inspiration from around the world

Art. Travel. Eat. Repeat.

Inspiration, Travel Tips, and stories for people who want to make their travel dreams happen.

getsetandgo

Travel Blog of a Budget Traveler on a look out for Vegetarian Food

roamwildandfree

Work Less // Play More // Be Free

ureachsunilnair

A Fine Sunil Nair Blog

CBS Chicago

Chicago News, Sports, Weather, Traffic, and the Best of Chicago - CBS 2 TV | WBBM Newsradio 780 | 670 The Score

junkinirishman123

Cleanliness is Godliness~

Saviour Beans

The only way to cultivate your soul is to build character, realise your purpose and spread love.

It's Not Easy Being Red

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Ali's Dairy Life

Dairy Farming on the Mid North Coast of New South Wales, Australia

joeseeberblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

India Real Estate Expert

Real Estate latest news

sachin CTV

"Only For Creative Thinkers"

Prateik Kulkarni

It is about analyzing various topics related to media.

Sangeeta Choudhury

come lets explore the world of media criticism

TWILIGHT EMPIRE • by Erik Jay

You'll know the End of Days... it's after the End of Weeks.

